ASPP and Canada Prizes

ASPP and Canada Prizes

Awards to Scholarly Publications Program

The Federation is the administrator of the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program (ASPP), a competitive funding program designed to assist with the publication of scholarly books. Under the program’s mandate to support books of advanced scholarship in the humanities and social sciences that make an important contribution to knowledge, the ASPP contributes 1.5 million dollars to the dissemination of Canadian research annually and has supported the publication of over 7,000 books.

The Federation supports Open Access and has established a policy to actively promote and facilitate Open Access publishing of ASPP-funded books. The policy, adopted as of April 1, 2015, is based on the following principles:

  • The Federation supports Open Access; and
  • A dynamic Canadian scholarly publishing sector continues to be of utmost importance to the dissemination of Canadian research.

The policy states that the Federation will actively promote and facilitate Open Access publishing of ASPP-funded books.

Canada Prizes

The Canada Prizes are awarded annually to the best scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences that have received funding from the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program (ASPP). The winning books make an exceptional contribution to scholarship, are engagingly written, and enrich the social, cultural and intellectual life of Canada.

Latest news
Jury members
Call for Nominations

Call for Nominations

The call for nominations for the 2020 prizes is now over. 

Nominated titles will be forwarded to the jury, who will select the finalists and the winner.

Questions? Email

Latest News

The winners of the 2019 Canada Prizes have been announced! See the list of this year’s winners below and find out more in our media kit.

The winners were honored during the 2019 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences at The University of British Columbia. 

We celebrated the 2019 English Canada Prize winner, Allan Downey, on Tuesday, June 4 at 18:00 at the Canadian Historical Association’s prize ceremony in Buchanan – BUCH A101 on the UBC campus. In the video below, Allan Downey speaks about his book The Creator's Game: Lacrosse, Identity and Indigenous Nationhood. Read more in our blog article!


We celebrated the 2019 French Canada Prize winner, Denys Delâge, on Sunday, June 2 at 17:00 at the Gage Residence (in the Isabel MacInnes Room) on the UBC campus. In the video below, Denys Delâge speaks about his prize-winning book Le Piège de la liberté. Les peuples autochtones dans l'engrenage des régimes coloniaux. Learn more in the blog article!


[back to top]

About the Canada Prizes

Archives: Canada Prizes