Canada Prizes

Canada Prizes

The Canada Prizes are awarded annually to the best scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences that have received funding from the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program (ASPP). The winning books make an exceptional contribution to scholarship, are engagingly written, and enrich the social, cultural and intellectual life of Canada.

Every year, four prizes of $2,500 are awarded:

  • Canada Prize in the Humanities
  • Canada Prize in the Social Sciences
  • Prix du Canada en sciences humaines
  • Prix du Canada en sciences sociales


2015 Awards Ceremony
2015 Canada Prizes Jury

Latest News

2015 will mark the 25th anniversary of the Canada Prizes! Find out more about the prizes’ history.

The Federation, in conjunction with ceremony host York University, has announced that this year’s Canada Prizes awards ceremony will be held at the Toronto Reference Library on Wednesday, April 29, 2015, with keynote speaker M.G. Vassanji. Read more below.

The 2015 Canada Prize juries have been announced and they include well known scholars and public intellectuals, such as Gérard Bouchard and Catherine Mavrikakis, as well as last year’s winners. See the full list with the jurors’ bios and photos below.

The finalists for the 2015 Canada Prizes will be announced on Wednesday, March 25, 2015. The winners will be announced on Wednesday, April 22, 2015, one week before the awards ceremony.

2015 Awards Ceremony

Mark your calendars! The 2015 Canada Prizes awards ceremony will be held on Wednesday, April 29, 2015. Hosted jointly by the Federation and York University, this event will include a keynote address by internationally celebrated storyteller M.G. Vassanji and will take place in the Appel Salon at the Toronto Reference Library. This year will mark the 25th awarding of these prestigious prizes.

[back to top]

2015 Canada Prizes Jury

The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences is pleased to announce the jury members for the 2015 Canada Prizes.

Jury members for the 2015 Canada Prize in the Humanities

Margaret Conrad is Professor Emerita of history at the University of New Brunswick, where she held the Canada Research Chair in Atlantic Canada Studies from 2002 to 2009. Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and Officer of the Order of Canada, she is also the author or co-author of numerous books, including A Concise History of Canada (2012) and Canadians and Their Pasts (2013).

Sandra Djwa is renowned for her award-winning writing on iconic Canadian authors, such as Margaret Atwood, Leonard Cohen, Al Purdy and E.J. Pratt. In 2013 she was awarded a Governor General’s Literary Award for Journey with No Maps: A Life of P.K. Page, which also won the 2014 Canada Prize in the Humanities and was shortlisted for the Charles Taylor Prize. Sandra Djwa taught English at Simon Fraser University from 1968 to 2005.

Jane Koustas is a Professor in the Department of Modern Languages and Literatures at Brock University. She has served as the Craig Dobbin Professor of Canadian Studies at University College Dublin, as well as the Academic Convenor for the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences (2014). An expert of English-Canadian literature in translation, she is the co-editor of four books and the author of Les belles étrangères : Canadians in Paris (2008).

Jury members for the 2015 Canada Prize in the Social Sciences

Pat Armstrong is Professor of sociology and women’s studies at York University. An expert in the fields of social policy, women, work, health and social services, she is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada and the co-author or co-editor of many books, including Wasting Away (2010), Women’s Health (2008), and Critical to Care (2008). She is also a board member of the Canadian Health Coalition and the Canadian Centre for Policy Alternatives.

Robert Bothwell is Professor of history at University of Toronto, where he has taught since 1970. A specialist in late twentieth-century international and Canadian history, he is the author or co-author of many books, including The Penguin History of Canada (2006) and Alliance and Illusion (2007). From 1995 to 2011, he was Director of the International Relations Program at Trinity College. He is a Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada.

David E. Smith is the author of Federalism and the Constitution of Canada (2010), The People’s House of Commons (2007), and many books on Canadian politics. His 2013 book, Across the Aisle: Opposition in Canadian Politics was the winner of the 2014 Canada Prize in the Social Sciences. A Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada, he is currently Distinguished Visiting Professor in the Department of Politics and Public Administration at Ryerson University.

Jury members for the Prix du Canada en sciences humaines 2015

Pierre Anctil is Full Professor at the department of history of the University of Ottawa, where he teaches contemporary Canadian history. He received the 2014 Prix du Canada en sciences humaines for his book Jacob-Isaac Segal (1896-1954) : un poète yiddish de Montréal et son milieu (2012). He is the author of several books including ‘Soyons nos maîtres’ : 60 éditoriaux pour comprendre Le Devoir sous Georges Pelletier, 1932-1947 (2013).

Jocelyn Maclure is Full Professor of the Faculty of Philosophy at Université Laval, and co-holder of the Chair in Philosophy in the present world. His last book, Laïcité et liberté de conscience (2010) co-written with Charles Taylor, has been translated into several languages. A philosopher actively involved in the community, he has taken part in the proceedings of the Bouchard-Taylor Commission on Reasonable Accommodation of Minorities and contributed to the Bastarache Commission on Judicial Appointments, among other projects.

Catherine Mavrikakis currently lives in Montréal where she teaches literature at the Université de Montréal. A well-known novelist, her most recent novel, La ballade d’Ali Baba, has just been published. She is also the author of several essays, including Diamanda Galás. Guerrière et gorgone (2014), L'éternité en accéléré (2012), and Condamner à mort. Les meurtres et la loi à l'écran (2005) for which she won the Prix Victor-Barbeau.

Jury members for the Prix du Canada en sciences sociales 2015

Gérard Bouchard, historian and sociologist, is Professor of the Department of Humanities and Social Sciences and holder of a Canada Research Chair at the Université du Québec à Chicoutimi. He has received numerous awards, including the Governor General of Canada Award in 2000 for his book Genèse des nations et cultures du Nouveau Monde. In 2007, he has co-chaired with Charles Taylor the Consultation Commission on Accommodation Practices related to Cultural Differences in Quebec.

Fannie Lafontaine is a lawyer and Professor of the Law Faculty at Université Laval and holder of the Canada Research Chair on International Criminal Justice and Human Rights. She has been, among other functions, a special adviser and human rights officer in the Executive Office of the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights. She is the author and co-author of a number of publications, including the book Prosecuting Genocide, Crimes Against Humanity and War Crimes in Canadian Courts (2012).

Winner of the Prix du Canada 2014 en sciences sociales awarded by the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences for his book Les chemises bleues : Adrien Arcand, journaliste antisémite canadien-français, Hugues Théorêt holds a bachelor’s and a master’s degree in history. Journalist, publicist and intergovernmental affairs advisor, he has also worked on a series of television documentaries about the history of Canada. He is currently engaged in doctoral studies in history at the University of Ottawa.


[back to top]

About the Canada Prizes

Archives: Canada Prizes