The 2014 Canada Prize Juries, a Good (Scholarly) Book and a Cup of Tea

Friday, November 8, 2013

Jessica Clark Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences

As autumn turns into winter, with the days getting shorter and the nights longer, I find myself spending more time curled up with a cup of tea and a good book.

That’s precisely what the jurors of this year’s Canada Prizes have been doing since mid-October, when they received the nominees for the 2014 awards.

Made up of past winners, respected scholars and public intellectuals, the Canada Prize juries have the enviable task of choosing the best scholarly books in the humanities and social sciences that have received funding from the Awards to Scholarly Publications Program (ASPP) in the past year.

This year’s juries are:

Canada Prize in the Humanities

  • François-Marc Gagnon
  • Linda Hutcheon
  • Andrew Rippin

Canada Prize in the Social Sciences

  • Michael Adams
  • Greg Kealey
  • Janice Stein

Prix du Canada en sciences humaines

  • Lise Bissonnette
  • Thomas De Koninck
  • Michel Nareau

Prix du Canada en sciences sociales

  • Renée Dupuis
  • Xavier Gélinas
  • Nicolas Vonarx

As the coordinator of the ASPP, I’m proud to say that the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences is very excited to have such distinguished individuals on the juries this year. Pictures and biographies of the jurors can be found on the Canada Prize webpage.

Celebrating the best Canadian scholarly books—not simply within a single academic discipline, but across all the disciplines of the humanities and social sciences—the Canada Prizes are awarded to books that make an exceptional contribution to scholarship, are engagingly written, and enrich the social, cultural and intellectual life of Canada. Every year, four prizes of $2,500 are awarded.

The winners and finalists of the prizes provoke and inform national conversations on important topics, and draw attention to the important contribution of scholarship to Canadian society. The finalists will be announced in the late winter, and the winners will be announced in the spring. See the 2013 Canada Prize winners here.


Canada Prizes


Canada PrizesAward to Scholarly Publications Program