Election results 2018

The Federation invited General Assembly representatives and Board members to submit nominations between January 22 and February 2, 2018. The Nominating Committee reviewed the nominations during its February 2018 teleconference. The results of the elections were ratified by the Board of Directors at its meeting on March 23-24, 2018.

Acclaimed positions

As per the Federation’s Governance Policies, in the event that there is only one candidate nominated for an open position, that candidate shall be acclaimed into the position and there shall be no election for that position. Accordingly, the following three positions were acclaimed:

  • President-Elect: Patrizia Albanese, Professor, Department of Sociology, Ryerson University
  • Director, Equity and Diversity: Wesley Crichlow, Professor, Associate Dean of Equity, University of Ontario Institute of Technology 
  • Director, Teaching and Learning: Tim Goddard, Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Prince Edward Island


The Board of Directors has also made the following appointment:

  • Chair of ASPP Academic Council: Marcel Martel, the Avie Bennett Historica Canada Chair in Canadian history at York University.

New Board

The Federation’s new Board of Directors, effective May 27, 2018:

Guy Laforest, President - Executive Director, École nationale d’administration publique

Patrizia Albanese, President-Elect - Professor of Sociology, Ryerson University

Julia Wright, Director, Associations - Professor, Department of English, Dalhousie University

Sandra Lapointe, Director, Associations - Associate Professor, Department of Philosophy, McMaster University

David Sylvester, Director, Institutions - Principal, Associate Professor, Department of History, King’s University College at Western University

Lisa Young, Director, Institutions - Vice-Provost and Dean of Graduate Studies, Professor, Department of Political Science, University of Calgary

Wesley Crichlow, Director, Equity and Diversity - Associate Dean of Equity and Diversity, University of Ontario Institute of Technology

Michael E. Sinatra, Director, Research Dissemination - Professor, English Department, Université de Montréal

Claudia Malacrida, Director, Research Policy - Associate Vice-President Research, Professor of Sociology, University of Lethbridge

Tim Goddard, Director, Teaching and Learning - Professor, Faculty of Education, University of Prince Edward Island

Marcel Martel, Chair, ASPP Academic Council - Avie Bennett Historica Canada Chair in Canadian History, York University

Carmen Charette, Treasurer - Vice-President, External Relations, University of Victoria


Contact Lamis El-Zien at lelzein@ideas-idees.ca.