The Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences is a not-for-profit organization, governed by a Board of Directors made up of scholars who are elected at the Annual Meeting. The day-to-day operations of the Federation are carried out by staff working out of the head office, which is located in Ottawa, Ontario.

Board of Directors


Patrizia Albanese
Professor of Sociology, Ryerson University


Vice-Chair (Chair-elect)

Mike DeGagné 
President and CEO of Indspire and former President and Vice Chancellor of Nipissing University

Jennifer Andrews


Jennifer Andrews
Professor in the Department of English at the University of New Brunswick and outgoing President of the Association of Canadian College and University Teachers of English (ACCUTE)



Deanna Reder
Associate Professor, Departments of First Nations Studies and English, Simon Fraser University, and former President and founding member of the Indigenous Literary Studies Association


Wesley Crichlow
Associate Dean of Equity and Diversity, University of Ontario Institute of Technology


David Sylvester
President and Vice-chancellor, University of St. Michael’s College


Yolande Chan
Associate Dean (Research and PhD-MSc Programs) and E. Marie Shantz Professor of Information Technology Management, Smith School of Business, Queen’s University


Annie Pilote
Associate Dean of Research, Graduate and International Studies, Department of Educational Foundations and Practices, Université Laval


Claudia Malacrida
Professor of Sociology, Board of Governors Research Chair, Tier I (Emerita), University of Lethbridge 

Marcel Martel

Chair, ASPP Academic Council

Marcel Martel
Avie Bennett Historica Canada Chair in Canadian History, York University


Joel Faflak
Professor, Department of English, Western University, and Visiting Professor, Victoria College, University of Toronto

ASPP Academic Council


Marcel Martel
Avie Bennett Historica Canada Chair in Canadian History, York University


Thomas Kemple
Department of Sociology, University of British Columbia

Michele Lacombe
Chanie Wenjack School for Indigenous Studies, Trent University

Brenda LeFrançois
School of Social Work, Memorial University

Keavy Martin
Department of English and Film Studies, University of Alberta

François Rocher
School of Political Studies, University of Ottawa

Back to top

2020 Congress Working Groups

Congress Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization (EDID)

The COVID-19 crisis of 2020 cast new light on the importance of identifying and addressing Equity, Diversity, Inclusion, and Decolonization (EDID) issues within our society and our scholarly communities. The global pandemic has also brought to the forefront questions about how we can make the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences more open, accessible, and inclusive, and leverage this unique platform to support critical conversations on important social issues.

With these issues in mind, on July 30, 2020, the Federation announced the creation of the Congress Advisory Committee on Equity, Diversity, Inclusion and Decolonization (EDID). Read more about the committee and its members at Congress 2021.

Task Force on Congress Contingency Planning

The 2020 Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences was intended to take place at Western University in London, Ontario. In the context of the COVID-19 pandemic of 2020, the in-person event had to be cancelled, and plans were drafted to move the conference online. However, as time progressed and the pandemic's impact grew larger and larger, it became clear that our members' priorities were shifting. Congress 2020 ultimately got cancelled completely.

Plans for Congress 2021 to be hosted at the University of Alberta had already been underway for a number of months when all of this took place. As much as we all would like to see Congress 2021 taking place entirely at the University of Alberta next year, we cannot ignore the uncertainty of the situation and the associated risks.

With this in mind, on July 30, 2020 the Federation announced the creation of the Task Force on Congress Contingency Planning. The Task Force will assess risks, provide recommendations, and identify opportunities centering around the 2021 incarnation of the Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences. Read more about the Task Force at Congress 2021.

Back to top

2018 Congress Working Group

The Board of Directors of the Federation for the Humanities and Social Sciences has launched a review of how best to meet the Federation’s strategic directions through Congress and other events. Discussions over the next few months will take into account the full range of Federation activities: the annual Congress of the Humanities and Social Sciences, the Big Thinking lecture series and the annual conference, which was last held in the fall of 2016.

The review is being carried out by a Congress Working Group, established by the Board, which will generate ideas, evaluate new directions for Federation initiatives, identify emerging opportunities and potential pilot projects, and develop recommendations to strengthen Congress and other events.

The Congress Working Group will assess the current state of Federation activities, identify and challenge assumptions, and serve as a launch pad for new ideas. It will also oversee a series of formal and informal consultations with Federation members, including member roundtables in Regina at Congress 2018. The group will report back to the Federation’s Board of Directors by mid-October 2018.

Among issues to be addressed are: the impact of research trends, including the growing globalization of research, team research, and increased interdisciplinarity; the diverse needs of graduate students, emerging scholars and high-profile, seasoned academics; and how best to use technology and other means to amplify and add value to Federation events.


Marco Fiola
Chair, Department of Languages, Literatures and Cultures, Ryerson University, and Academic Convenor, Congress 2017

William Lindsay
Special Advisor on Aboriginal Affairs, Simon Fraser University

Nicholas Ng-A-Fook
Professor of Education, University of Ottawa, and President, Canadian Society for the Study of Education

Gayle MacDonald
Associate Vice-President Research, Mount Saint Vincent University

Michael E. Sinatra
Professor of Literature, Université de Montréal

Jacqui Tam
Vice-President External, University of Alberta

Rima Wilkes
Professor of Sociology, The University of British Columbia, and President, Canadian Sociological Association

Back to top

Past Presidents

Click here for a list of Past Presidents.

Back to top